3D Printing -- Pretty Close to Ready

Your Main Forum For Discussing 1:18 Scale Military Figures and Vehicles.
gburch
Officer - Captain
Officer - Captain

3D Printing -- Pretty Close to Ready

Post by gburch » Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:00 am

I strongly urge our "garage shop" model entrepreneurs to look at this video:

http://www.technewsdaily.com/3d-printin ... ters-1515/

I've been following 3D printer tech off and on for over a decade and this looks like it might be fairly close to being ready for the first steps to being used in our hobby.

FWIW, I'm a pretty accomplished 3D artist and can make just about any kind of mesh and export it in just about any kind of format. I might be interested in collaborating with folks who have an interest in at least testing out 3D printing for use in 1/18 models.

On the other hand, with the 3D scanner also discussed in the above video ... it looks like a lot of the hard work of manually creating meshes may be "automatable."

I'm very interested in this and would like to see if there's any interest in organizing an informal "R & D group" around it.

aferguson
Lieutenant General - MOD
Lieutenant General - MOD

Re: 3D Printing -- Pretty Close to Ready

Post by aferguson » Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:56 am

interesting.....what is the material of the object going to be like? Is it like a resin, plastic, thick paper?
i never met an airplane i didn't like...

pickelhaube
Officer - Brigadier General

Post by pickelhaube » Fri Nov 12, 2010 11:41 am

It already is being used almost by everybody who does custom XD work.

I have even used the services for a project that did not win in one of my polls.

Not too many guys volunteer this info .
Kirk Douglas : Mine hit the ground first
John Wayne : Mine was taller

gary1930
Officer - 2nd Lieutenant
Officer - 2nd Lieutenant

Post by gary1930 » Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:18 pm