What airbrush do you use?

Love to tweak toys and models? Add features and small details? This forum is for you!
pizzaguy
Officer - 1st Lieutenant
Officer - 1st Lieutenant

What airbrush do you use?

Post by pizzaguy » Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:20 am

I've been using a Paasche VL series for years. It has been ok but not great.
The VL is a siphon airbrush. I would like to switch to a gravity feed version.

What does everyone else use? What are the pros and cons of your brush?

A-10LOADER
Officer - Major
Officer - Major

Re: What airbrush do you use?

Post by A-10LOADER » Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:49 am

I've been using a Paasche VLS for over 20 years now and I love it. It's always been a workhorse for me and, very dependable and, it's super easy to clean.
Since I've been having issues with my hands / arms, I recently purchased a GREX Tritium TG3 gravity feed airbrush. It also performs beautifully and is very easy to clean.
You have to remember, everyone is different, as far as likes and dislikes so, what one person might love another might dislike.
I've heard great things about IWATA and H&S airbrushes but, for me what I have works just fine.
I think the MOST important factor is experience and practice. Plus, let's not forget the other factors involved, what paints are you spraying, are they mixed properly, are you using the correct thinning agents, what environment are you spraying in (too hot, too cold, too humid) All this comes into play as well.
Good luck with your search and I hope you find what works for you.

Steve
OPERATION "DELIBERATE GUARD", "SOUTHERN WATCH", "ENDURING FREEDOM" AND, "IRAQI FREEDOM" VETERAN.

[CAT]CplSlade
Officer - Brigadier General

Post by [CAT]CplSlade » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:00 am

Iwata Eclipse. I got it at Hobby Lobby with the 40% off coupon, however they don't seem to carry the gravity-fed model anymore. I would avoid the Neos as they are a bargain version and have some quality issues.

tmanthegreat

Post by tmanthegreat » Tue Jul 17, 2018 5:57 pm